Latkes with Spicy Beet Sauce

I’m not a jew, but I do love one (or two). I also love trying foods from different cultures.
Although, I find that most cultures share similar dishes; the latke for example. In Southern U.S., we have a version we call potato pancakes. The English have a similar dish–the potato croquette. In fact, many cultures learned to stretch a potato when crops failed. While each version has its ownTasty Lane Latkes recipe history, latkes have a very special history. Read more about them on PBS.org.

Here I present one version of the latke/potato pancake/croquette.

I paired mine with a Spicy Beet sauce that I will introduce further down.


Preparation time: 10 minutes Cook time: 30 minutes Serves: 6 to 8
Technique: Frying, Blender Tastes: Savory, Spicy, Sweet Easy, Everyday

Potato Cheese Latkes Recipe

Ingredients

  • 3 cups peeled & shredded potatoes
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 envelope onion soup
  • 2 tbsp flour
  • 2 large eggs, beaten
  • 2 tbsp minced garlic
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ½ tsp pepper
  • ¼ cup canola oil

Tasty Lane Latkes recipePeel and shred potatoes. Place in a clean towel, squeeze to remove excess water. In medium bowl beat eggs, add soup mix, spices and flour, stir to mix. Add shredded potatoes and cheese to mix. Using hands, mix thoroughly. Heat oil over medium heat in skillet. Scoop 2-3 tbsp of potato mix in heated oil. Press gently to 1 inch thickness. Let fry 5-8 minutes until edges are brown. Heat oven to 250℉. Place cooked latkes on cookie sheet in oven while preparing Spicy Beet Sauce.

Be Still my Beet-ing Heart

Now, about the beet. It’s no coincidence that I paired my latkes with a beet sauce. First, beets are a fascinating root. With their bold red coloring and silken texture; I dare say they are the sexiest of the root family. Yet, their flavor is perhaps the most delicate and therefore, most difficult to finesse. Which, I think makes them that much sexier, but then again, challenge excites me.

Narcissa, André Balazs and Michelin-starred chef John Fraser’s restaurant in the East Village, New York City.

So, it was that I had my most tantalizing beet dish at one of New York City’s sexiest restaurants with one of New York’s sexiest men. The restaurant: Narcissa. The man: I don’t kiss and tell. I will tell you that it was Narcissa’s treatment of the beet that solidified my opinion that it is one of the most interesting root vegetables. Cooked rotisserie style and served with a tangy horseradish sauce–I nearly slid off my seat it was so delightful. The beet had a charred, crispy exterior with a soft interior (much like my date). I dare not attempt to recreate this dish, but I offer instead a Spicy Beet Sauce, which can be paired with a number of dishes, but there’s something romantic about putting these two roots together. Enjoy. ♥

Tasty Lane Spicy Beet Sauce

Spicy Beet Sauce Recipe

  • 1 15 oz can sliced beets
  • 2 tbsp horseradish sauce
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • ¾ cup apple cider vinegar
  • ½ tsp salt

Drain all but a few teaspoons of liquid from beets. Blend all ingredients. Serve cold with warm latkes from oven.

Variations

  1. Add different cheeses to latkes
  2. Use ground horseradish instead of horseradish sauce in Spicy Beet Sauce
  3. Add sour cream to sauce for a milder flavor

Download Recipes HERE
Leave a Reply

